Let’s Say Thank You

November 14, 2016          

***ACTION ALERT***

THEY VOTED “NO”, NOW LET’S SHOW THEM SOME GRATITUDE

These days, it has been a challenge to convince many elected officials to stand with employers and protect jobs in a meaningful way.  The sweetened beverage tax debate was a perfect opportunity for Cook County Board Members to vote against a tax that will make our border retailers vulnerable, will be very difficult and expensive to administer and ultimately cost jobs at both the retail and distribution levels.

Elected officials often ask us what they can do to attract and retain businesses.  And while TIF resources and tax incentives are always appreciated, voting NO against proposals that harm the viability of existing businesses is one of the best ways to show employers that Cook County is a place where they are welcome.

Below, please find a list of Cook County Commissioners that voted NO on the sweetened beverage tax.  Please find some time this week to thank the Commissioners where you have stores for their NO vote.

Commissioner Richard Boykin

 (312) 603-4566

 richard.boykin@cookcountyil.gov

 

Commissioner John Fritchey

(312) 603-6380

john.fritchey@cookcountyil.gov

 

Commissioner Bridget Gainer

(312) 603-4210

Office@bridgetgainer.com

 

Commissioner Gregg Goslin

(312) 603-4932

commissioner.goslin@cookcountyil.gov

 

Commissioner Sean Morrison

(312) 603-4215

sean.morrison@cookcountyil.gov

 

Commissioner Timothy Schneider

(312) 603-6388

tim.schneider@cookcountyil.gov

 

Commissioner Peter Silvestri

(312) 603-4393

cookcty9@aol.com

 

Commissioner Jeffrey Tobolski

(312) 603-4735

jeffrey.tobolski@cookcountyil.gov

 

CONTACT INFORMATION:TanyaTriche

Tanya Triche
Vice President & General Counsel
312-726-4600
ttriche@irma.org